RJ Council Member Large Logo (1).png


New York City's Council District 40 borders the southeastern part of Prospect Park, encompassing Crown Heights, East Flatbush, Flatbush, Kensington, Midwood, Prospect Park, and Prospect Lefferts Gardens.

Not sure if you're in District 40? Find out using the handy widget below!

District 40.png

Elected Officials Representing City Council District 40

  • Mathieu Eugene - Current New York City Council Member District 40 (term-limited)

  • Yvette Clarke - US House NY District 9

  • Jerry Nadler - US House NY District 10

  • Eric Adams - Brooklyn Borough President

  • Simcha Felder - NY State Senate District 17

  • Zellnor Y. Myrie - NY State Senate District 20

  • Kevin S. Parker - NY State Senate District 21

  • Rodneyse Bichotte - NY State Assembly District 42

  • Diana C. Richardson - NY State Assembly District 43

  • Robert C. Carroll - NY State Assembly District 44

The Race for City Council District 40

Ranked-Choice Voting

Starting in 2021, all citywide, borough president and City Council primaries will use ranked-choice voting, as well as special elections for any of those positions. Voters will be able to select and rank up to five candidates.

In the words of City & State: "So let’s say you like Candidate C the best, but you also like Candidate A and to a lesser extent Candidate B. You can rank Candidate C as your first choice, Candidate A as your second and Candidate B as your third. You don’t have to rank all five – in fact, you can just choose one candidate."

Term Limits

Our current Council Member, Mathieu Eugene, has served in office since 2014. Due to term limits, he cannot run for the seat in 2021.